Muffins

I used an adaptation of this recipe as my “go to” muffin recipe for the past year or so. I never bothered to add the crumb topping, partly from laziness and partly because I like for my muffins to remain relatively healthy.

I decided, however, that adding a sugar + butter crunchy topping wouldn’t be so bad if I cut some of the fat and sugar recipe from the muffin itself. The result was fantastic! While the muffin wasn’t overly sugary, the sweet and crunchy topping made up for it. “My” recipe is only a slight adaptation of the one above, but I’ll post it here as well. It’s also doubled, which makes about 18 muffins for me.

Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 3 tsp “Ener-G” egg replacer + 2 tbsp water (this is the binder, but you could replace it will 2 tbsp apple sauce, or a mashed banana)
  • 3 cups flour
  • Slightly less than 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seed
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup oil 
  • about 2/3 cup soy or rice milk (see below)
  • 1 cup of berries
(crunchy topping)
  • 0.25 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp vegan margarine
  • 2 tbsp flour
  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Grease/line the muffin pan.
  2. In a measuring cup, wisk together the Ener-G powder and the water. 
  3. Add the oil to the measuring cup, then add in enough milk to equal 2 cups. 
  4. Mix together the contents of the measuring cup with the sugar, flour, flax seed, baking powder, and salt. 
  5. Fold the berries into the batter.
  6. Pour the batter into the muffin pan.
  7. Mix the crunchy topping ingredients in a small bowl until there are no large lumps. 
  8. Sprinkle the crunchy topping on top of the muffins. 
  9. Bake 25 minutes or until the tops are golden brown.

Leave a comment